About the Fund for Hoosier Excellence

The Fund for Hoosier Excellence (FHE) was founded in 1983 by U.S. Senator Richard G. Lugar to build an appreciation for academic excellence among minority students, encourage the best and brightest to attend institutions of higher education in Indiana, and to foster their choice of Indiana for careers which will add vigor and breadth to our economy and culture.


The FHE recognizes outstanding achievements of young people at a crucial point in their lives and makes them a part of an esteemed group. Senator Lugar, the alumni and the Board of Directors advocate for the student's success in addition to the financial scholarship they are awarded. In return, they are asked to attend an Indiana college or university, earn a quality education, and use it to provide leadership and mentoring to their communities and the next generation. Lugar Scholars have gone on to excel in a variety of fields and continue to give back to the organization through the alumni network and Board participation.


The FHE has awarded annual scholarships each year since its founding in 1983. This year, it will award ten scholarships to outstanding minority students: two $20,000 scholarships to one male and one female and eight $4,000 scholarships. Over the years, the FHE has awarded more than $1.75 million to more than 280 students.


The FHE is grateful to have a diversified support system that includes individuals, companies, foundations, and universities.

Each year the new Lugar Scholars are recognized and awarded their scholarships at the FHE’s annual banquet, hosted by Senator Lugar. This annual event brings together the families of the winning scholars, former Lugar Scholars, Board Members, and sponsors. It is a unique evening where tomorrow's community leaders are recognized and encouraged.

How To Apply:

The process for applying for the scholarship begins each September when information letters and applications are addressed and mailed to the guidance counselor(s) of all accredited high schools in Indiana.  Each high school is asked to nominate two students - one male and one female. Read more


FHE Board of Directors




Ms. DeAnne Powers Harris*


Indianapolis, Indiana


Mr. Gregory L. Pemberton

Westfield, Indiana


Ms. Michelle Gutierrez Sample*
Chair, Selection Committee
Dayton, Tennessee

Ms. Sherris Johnson

Chair, Banquet Committee 

Indianapolis, Indiana


Mr. Joseph Matthews IV*
Saint Joseph, Michigan


Ms. Carmen Hansen Rivera
Indianapolis, Indiana

















Ms. Lelia Powell Smith
Past President

Indianapolis, Indiana

Mrs. Anne Agosto Severa

East Chicago, Indiana

Dr. Meredith Carter
Carmel, Indiana

Mr. John Hall
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mr. Milton J. Keys*

Indianapolis, Indiana 

Ms. Richelle Medellin*
Salt Lake City, UT


Dr. Andre Schuler*
Zionsville, Indiana


Mr. John Verduzco*
Naples, Florida



* Denotes a Lugar Scholar








Mr. Thomas C. Black

Vice President
Fort Wayne, Indiana

Ms. Diana Thompson Caldwell*

Chair, Alumni Committee
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mr. Roy Griffin, III*
Carmel, Indiana


Mr. Kirk Hoult 
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mr. Richard Leverett*
Gary, Indiana
Mr. Thomas Reives*

Enfield, CT


Mr. Timothy Wright